To mitigate increasing traffic and pollution issues, the most effective method is to raise car fuel cost. This essay disagrees that rising petrol cost could help to reduce such problems because oil prices are in a volatile state. An alternative solution to the issues is to encourage people to use public transportation.

The global oil price is fluctuating today. In recent years, oil prices have declined due to the emerging renewable energy market. As the prices drop, gasoline experienced a slump in prices as well. Hence, it is very difficult to increase the price of gasoline for mitigating traffic congestions and air pollution. The fluctuation in oil prices not only affects the gasoline but the energy economy. To exemplify, solar as one of the many energy sources which are clean, gains higher demands for electricity compared to diesel, which is a product of crude oil. This results in a lower supply of crude oil due to a change in commodity and a shift into greener energy alternative, and therefore losing its monetary value.

Alternatively, one measure to reduce increasing traffic and pollution problems is to go green by taking public transport such as bus and train. This encourages people to lessen road congestions and carbon footprint. A recent study concluded that by taking buses or trains instead of driving own cars, thousands of tonnes of carbon dioxide gas can be saved from emitting to the atmosphere and hence improving the air quality of a city.

In conclusion, having a higher cost of gasoline is not the most effective way to tackle congested roads and atmospheric impurity issues as this is due to the fluctuating oil price, so another possible method to solve these problems is to take transportation that is available for public use other than owning a vehicle.