Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is suggested that students should acquire a non-native language as a part of their primary education curriculum instead of learning it in their secondary years. This essay will discuss that the advantages of such statement outweigh the disadvantages. It is advantageous because it helps to better a child's brain and prepares children to become fluent in another language, and yet the drawback of this is the dilemma of speaking a foreign language.

Learning a foreign language provides further development to a child's mind. Aside from studying science, mathematics or history, language learning is beneficial in improving cognitive skills such as memory skill, visual recognition and thinking skill. In many Asian countries, many students learn English language as their non-native language or second language since their primary years and this incorporates into other subjects up to the highest level of their education. Aside from that, studying a foreign language benefits the students to become fluent in mastering it as a skill. This prepares the children to become not only proficient but also to become confident and skillful in utilising more than one language. For example, my mother's tongue is Chinese, but I have been studying in English since kindergarten. Until today, I am fluent in English due to the fact that the medium of instruction throughout my educational years has always been English.

The only downside of learning another language at primary education is the dilemma of speaking it, especially at home. This is often confusing for kids who have to adopt bilingual and multilingual skills at a young age because they are not taught in their native tongue at school, where they spend most of their time studying and developing their mind. For instance, a Korean student whose native tongue is obviously Korean, has to learn English as a second language in high school, but she finds it very difficult to master effectively due to her primary education was mostly taught in her mother's tongue.

To conclude, young students learning a foreign language seems more favourable as it can improve their intelligence and allow them to grasp the language fully and surely, although it is deemed inefficient to use the language outside school.