Nowadays, society are able to keep themselves updated with today’s fashion and beauty looks. The cause of such a phenomenon is due to the presence of social media and it gives a negative impact especially to the younger generation.

Many are able to follow the latest fashion trends because of their use of social media, which is a very popular yet powerful digital tool that has drawn many youths and adults alike. Just open a social networking site such as Instagram or Facebook, and users can see what is recent in the realm of fashion, beauty, food and pop culture. Among the younger demographics, it is easy to follow bloggers or influencers who constantly advertise or promote certain products that potentially attract more followers and eventually more buyers, providing a social platform to engage with customers.

However, the influence of social media gives a negative impact on young people as it could lead to a perpetual habit or an obsession to have celebrity-like external features. Having such a mindset could affect the youth’s lives psychologically. This problem arises among young girls in particular, for instance. In a world where celebrities and bloggers showing off a life full of riches and glamour, girls and young women alike would have unnecessary pressure and insecurities built up in them just because they are comparing what they are lacking with these people.

To conclude, the modern society is catching up with latest styles and looks due to the presence of social networking sites which are predominantly used by the younger generation, but it is bad for them because it could lead them to follow a materialistic lifestyle and bring them psychological pain.