Under the background that the metropolitans and even the small cities suffers more and more serious problems of congestion and pollution, some people argue that the price of petrol should be increased. While I partly agree this can make a difference, there are other measures we can do.

The rise of price influences consumers' behaviors in many ways. First of all, considering the famous economic theory, namely, demand-needs theory, price is an effective factor to change the relation between demand and needs of products. The needs of oil declines with the higher price. As a result, people are less likely to drive their cars spontaneously. However, servals needs are still difficult to adjust, which will result in increasing citizen's burden.

Luckily, governments and individuals have various measures to choose. Governments can allocate more of their budgets on developing communal transportation, such as buses, underground and expresses, which are more effective and environmentally friendly. Secondly, better designs of roads and urban planning benefits a lot for these problems. For instance, when housing regions are scattered in the suburb and jobs are concentrated in CBD, commuting could cause too much pressure on transportation during rush hours. Finally, governments could hold some activities to encourage individuals to improve their awareness. As individuals, we are supposed to change our behaviors to reduce the pollution and protect the environment.

After having discussed the most pertinent points of this issue, I feel the only logical conclusion is that the rise of price can deal with the problems in some degree and both governments and individuals are able to try other potent effective steps.