increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems,to what extend do you agree or disagree,what other measures do you think might be effective?

With the ever-increasing amount of consumption for fossil fuels as the primary source of energy, comes the question whether a higher price tag on petrol would be the best remedy for congestion and air pollution, two commonest problems shared by major metropolitans worldwide. From where I stand, there are no easy answers to neither of the problems and therefore a growth in petrol price is only part of the solution, which is to be coupled with other measures.

congestion pricing has been shown to work, at least at a smaller, localised scale in some parts of the world. In that regard, there have been successful examples like London and Singapore, where drivers are charged an additional fee to enter certain areas of the town during specific hours. this practice seems effective, as in those cities traffic has been greatly reduced while air quality significantly improved, both thanks to the charging policies.

while this is useful to some extent, there are other measures that are worth equal consideration. For one thing, employers can implement flexitime, a regime allowing the employees to gain more flexibility at choosing their time for commuting, which in turn should allow them to avoid the peak hours. Ideally, this ought to keep cars off the road. People can also be encouraged to adapt for electric cars, an eco-friendlier option than their traditional fuel driven counterparts, as they emit zero air-polluting gas. In addition to that, the government should target the investment in the public transport, which is known to be by far more efficient in terms of capacity than private cars.

To conclude, it is perhaps a bit too simple-minded to think that raising the petrol price is the single best solution to congestion and pollution problems. city management involves the subtle balance between economic efficiency and environmental ethics. Thus, policy makers should try to take into account as many alternatives as possible for optimal results.