In the past twenty years, the amount of traffic on the road has greatly increased, and this has led to many problems with traffic jams and pollution in inner city areas. Recently, some people argued that it is valid to control this situation by increasing the price of petrol. As far as I am concerned, it might not be the effective way for those problems and other measures should be introduced.

A higher price of petrol cannot solve the frequent use of cars or other private vehicles, which is the main reason for the traffic congestion and air pollution. Firstly, comparing the price of a car, the price of petrol is by far less, so that people who own a private car would not give up their cars to commute by public services. Secondly, the prices of buses’ tickets are likely to increase with the soaring prices of petrol which would make it difficult to afford for some destitute citizens, and finally it might lead to a bad side effect.

There are several approaches, which is need the effort of both government and individuals, might make it more effective to solve the problems. Government fund should spend to improve the services of public transportation. In addition, citizens should be educated to aware of the negative effects of driving private vehicles as well as the consequences of air pollution. Meanwhile, those effects should be added in a textbook to teach teenagers, which are of benefits to the future situation.

Overall, increasing the price of petrol may have some advantages, but, on a whole, it is not the best way to address those problems. Government policy and education for citizens might play a vital role in solving those problems.