Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Increasing traffic and pollution issues have been controversial among economists and environmentalists. While the former regard raising petrol costs as the most efficient way, the latter think that there are other ways. This essay will discuss both and offer my opinion.

Several reasons for supporting harsh pricing can be observed. The first is the result of financial punishments are often quickly seen. Behavior changes can follow a dramatic improvement in gasoline used by vehicles for example. Furthermore, thoughts decide on actions. If people have a better understanding and awareness of these problems, there might be fewer harmful environmental activities. However, solutions such as raising public awareness can take a great deal of time and effort to come to fruition. Therefore, the petrol price increasing may be one of the influential ways to deal with the mentioned issues due to its direct effect on people’s benefits and its time-saving factor.

On the other hand, the activities leading to more traffic jams and reduced air quality might not be conducted intentionally. In general, it’s everyone ’s common sense that using cars instead of bikes and mass-producing in factories using raw materials such as coal are detrimental to the environment. Despite this, ordinary people are likely to have to continue using cars to make a living or complete tasks to support their families. Besides, other measures of solving traffic and environment-related problems might include using cleaner energy such as wind, water, and solar. This can require some investments but can be extremely powerful if working out. In brief, raising costs in petroleum is not the number one solution.

In conclusion, while rising petrol prices can help partially, other long-term measures should be taken into account. A well-thought-out educating program by governments and nonprofits can be placed which needs to encourage the public use of bicycles for non-essential trips and shared cabs to reduce the number of cars and CO2 emission.