Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Over the past few decades, congestion and contamination have become burning issues around the world. While people suggest that increasing the petrol’s price is the most effective way to solve these problems, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint and I believe that there are more other constructive measures.

The increase in the price of petrol seem a logical solution to deal with the traffic and pollution issues; however, it is too difficult to put into practice. In many countries, petrol is used as the main fuel for various kind of vehicles that serve people daily transportation. For that reason, an increase in the cost of gasoline hardly affect the frequent use of the transport, therefore, neither the traffic jams nor contamination problems can be solved completely.

Instead of increasing the gasoline price, there are other effective ways to tackle the traffic and pollution problems. It is important to raise people’s awareness of protecting the environment by universalizing the use of alternative renewable energy. For example, the green fuels have been applied in many developed countries to replace the fossil fuels such as petrol or coal. The second measure is encouraging people to use the public transports such as buses and subways to reduce the traffic volume. Besides, the government should also improve the traffic systems as well as the public transport infrastructure.

In conclusion, the increase in the price of petrol is not a practical solution to protect the environment and solve the traffic problems. Therefore, it is more plausible to promote the use of alternative energies as well as develop efficient public transportation amenities to motive people to switch away from petrol-used vehicle.