Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

In this 21st century, traffic congestion and pollution have become the major issues around the world. Some people assume that soaring the price of petrol is the proper way to tackle this problem, but from my perspective, it might trigger other problems in our society. However, there is another measure which should be considered to cope this issues.

There is a common concern that increasing petrol price would reflect to social economic sectors. Petrol is the basic element of product prices which plays pivotal role for transporting and distributing goods. If the price of petrol raises, it will cause a severe contraction in the basic human needs such as food and cloth cost. Hence, it would affect directly to people’s welfare and exacerbate economic stability in a country. Nevertheless, we could not ignore that there are some countries which were successful to control jamming traffic and pollution by increasing petrol price. Norway; for example, it is one of the most prosperous countries which have the highest average petrol price in the world.

Besides, there is other argument that imposing tight regulations for having vehicles is likely to be a wise idea. People are easier to get new car today due to the financial credits, while there is a trend competition in automotive industry for making the low-cost cars. Research carried out by statistics center in New York shows that the large number of using cars in many developing countries increased by almost 60 percent since the financial liberalization era. This research makes clear that the strict rules are needed to control growing of vehicles and reduce other related issue such as pollution.

All thinking considered, enacting stringent regulations is an ideal solution to cope traffic density and pollution problems than increasing petrol price which have negative effects to people life.