Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Discussion over environmental preservation has always been a long-standing debate in the world. Some people argue that governments and large companies should take full responsibility of protecting the environment, as there is no action taken by individuals can change the situation. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this idea and strongly believe that everyone, including residents and governments, should contribute to address this issue.

For a start, environment pollution is a man-made consequence, which is caused by human. Several minor everyday activities such as littering, using plastics or driving release a large amount of pollutants to the environment. Therefore, a reduction on these actions would result in more hygienic ecosystem, which is human's responsibility. Simply put, if each person in the world stop driving for a day, there would be a significant decrease in the amount of exhaust released into the atmosphere.

Another point to consider is the limitation in the actions that could be taken by governments and large companies. The governments are only capable of propagandising about eco-friendly activities, imposing bans and regulations on destroying the environment. Some large companies have altered their energy sources to the renewable ones such as solar energy, wind energy,... However, there is no regulation saying that a company must use renewable energy due to the profits and difficulties in building such solar panels or wind turbines in the city. Therefore, people should raise their own awareness of protecting the environment and participate in some environment preservating activities organised by governments, local authorities or volunteers. A small action at the moment will change the entire situation in the future.

In conclusion, it is not only governments and large companies' responsiblity but also individuals' contribution in environmental preservation. We can rest assured that with the participation of the Earth's residents, the environment will be improved quicklier and more efficiently.