Inner city traffic congestion is still a serious problem in many cities. Much of this congestion is caused by there being simply too many cars on our roads. What could be done to encourage people not to use their cars?

Various negative effects stem from the increasing number of cars on the roads in cities all over the world, traffic congestion being one of them. Possible ways to encourage people to stop using cars will be discussed in this essay.

Perhaps the immediate step could involve providing to the city dwellers a better alternative. If buses or underground were as comfortable as personal cars are usually considered, most people would definitely choose them to commute. Possible improvements can include equipping buses or subway carriages with free Wi-Fi access, ACs, and power sockets, what is currently done in Moscow. Lower ticket prices and applications to track vehicles in real-time could also make public transport more popular. Another remedy might be the development of cycling infrastructure. Bicycles are the cheapest means of transport and also cause absolutely no adverse effects to either the environment, or the city traffic. Building special bicycle roads, starting bicycle sharing companies and launching mobile applications for easier access could undoubtedly make people, especially youngsters, use fewer cars. For instance, bicycle-sharing companies proved very successful in Beijing, where half of the city population uses them instead of cars. The final response could be initiating ecological campaigns and increasing the awareness of the environmental issues caused by excessive car usage, such as atmosphere pollution or the greenhouse effect. If popular online bloggers or other influencers participate in such campaigns in the media, they could attract attention of people from all over the world. Greta Thunberg’s case shows, that even one person’s actions can make a big difference.

To sum up, possible answers to the city congestion problem could involve improving the public transportation system, developing the bicycle infrastructure and launching environment awareness campaigns.