With the palpable impacts of global warming and an influx of natural disasters in recent years, environmental protection has become one of the most heated topic of interest in the 21st century. Some assert that governments should collaborate in an urgent manner to come up with initiatives to mitigate the amount of non-renewable energy, such as gas and oil. I, undoubtedly, an active advocate on the idea of minimizing the consumption of fossil fuels.

On the one hand, a substantial number of developing countries is still strictly dependent on fossil fuels for the sake of economic growth and prosperity. This trend is justifiable as best due to the undeniable low price and its availability in the nature. Therefore, the country leaders would need to take upfront benefits precedent over long-term sustainability. Moreover, due to the disproportion of natural gas across countries that make the fortunate one like Saudi Arabia seems to be unpragmatic just to turn away from such a lucrative resources.

On the other hand, raw fuels like natural gas and seabed oil are nonrenewable energy, which always pose a threat of running out and a task of searching for alternatives toward the resource collectors. Millions year of dissolving and concentration of trillions animal corpses would only take a few hundred years to be exploited and used to the last drop. This alone proves how unsustainable a country could be if they heavily depend on this ancient energy.

In addition to the aforementioned reason, the inextricable relationship between human race and the environment also play a crucial role on fostering countries to look for a long-term resolution. An oil leak can take a tremendous toll on the eco-balance of an area spread across thousands of hectares of sea surface and kill uncountable amount of marine lives, disrupting the food chains that eventually, has adverse effects on the human race.

In conclusion, while it seems, at the time, irrational to ignore such an fruitful and easy-to-harvest energy, I'm convinced that is of paramount importance for the global communities to come up with an agreement on alleviating the woefully reckless consumption of fossil fuels.