International sporting events such as the Olympic Games and the Football World Cup provide an outlet for patriotic feelings, and help reduce international tensions.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the modern world the sporting events became one of the most popular common entertainments due to the development of digital technologies and television. Many believe that organization or even participation in them can increase the national confidence or improve international relations. Despite this, it is disagreed that there are only bright sides of holding the global championships. Analyzing the realities of political and sovereign interactions will show this.

On the one hand, that kind of popular events requires massive preparation, such as building stadiums, improvement of infrastructure, modernization of security sector ect. and that actions can disclose the facts of monstrous corruption and inefficiency, which could cause the fall of patriotic spirit due to uprising distrust and skepticism about the government steps. For instance, during the construction of main sport facilities for the FIFA World Cup in Russia some cases of large frauds were spotted and the attitude of the majority of Russian citizens was spoiled.

Moreover, some of the so-called “true fans” do not always behave properly with the delegations from the other countries and tourists, as a result, some accidents can reduce the popularity and prestige of the welcoming nation. However, despite the truth that such event can push the development in numerous spheres of life and improvements of the economic environment, it can also lead to some instability inside the country.

On the other hand, is it not a secret that almost all types of popular championships are often used as an instrument of political manipulations. For example, Russian national team had been banned and eventually could not participate in the Olympic Games 2017 beneath the tricolour of the RF, probably due to the aggressive foreign policy of the government. Therefore, sports have also become the way that politics can affect their competitors and satisfy their ambitions. Thus, it makes clear that taking part in global games can noticeably downgrade the respect of the government and nation.

As seen above, reviewing the global situation is not encouraging. Consequently, the global sporting events can notably affect the standards of living and interstate affairs in a negative way. Thus, as the old adage holds true: sport is a competition of persons, but not a contest of systems.