Smart devices have put all of the world’s information at our fingertips. What are the drawbacks of this development?

The advancement of technology undoubtedly leads humanity to the bright future. Especially it applies to the smart devices like mobile phones, laptops, notebooks etc. Despite this, it is often argued that this way of gaining information can minimize human relationship and even cause health problems to its users. The main points to the argument are the dependence on technologies, lack of interaction between people and potential consequences to health.

Firstly, the development of modern technologies makes the lively human contact unnessesary. For instance, the statistics from Japan, that is considered as a fatherland of high-tech, represents that so-called “kodokushi” (the phenomena of lonely death) has been rising since 2015, exceeding 45 thousand each year. People lose their friends and acquaintances due to work and attachment to the gadgets and, therefore it results in loneliness and abandondment at the end of their life. Consequently, the services and applications which were made to provide an opportunity of remote communication, however, lead their users to contact on a distant way, in fact, preventing them from getting along with each other in normal way.

In addition, according to the studies, laziness and procrastination rises dramatically between the users of smart devices and mobile phones is the perfect example of it. This particular piece of technology gives its user an access to a wide variety of services. You do not need to turn your TV on to watch favorite programme or to have a walk to the bookshop to buy a book you like – your smartphone, which is connected to the World Web within the “wireless fidelity”, contains all the books, all the news and all the videos that were made. Thus, the US healthcare organizations tie the increase of number of american children and teenagers suffering from obesity during the last 5 years not only with the popularity of junk food, but also with the usage of gadgets and insufficient amount of fresh-air activities.

In summary, smart devices help people to gather information about all spheres and from all corners of the world, but some disadvantages, like loss of human connections and certain health problems overrides its benefits. It is predicted that the development of mobile technology and related devices will cause even more harm to the humanity in future.