The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements?

As human beings are living in an era of technology, the Internet has increased its penetration of almost every household across the globe. While it is widely believed that this invention helps users in connecting with their relatives and friends despite distance and cost, it also keeps them separate from the real world and become less socialised. Personally, I would incline towards the former view due to the internet’s vast contribution to our global connections.

On the one hand, there are several existing internet-related problems that deter some individuals from public interactions and social programmes. In fact, many people prefer chatting with their friends and loved ones via video calls or chat apps at home to meeting them directly due to its convenience and cheapness. Besides, the popularity of the internet also facilitates the widespread use of video games, encouraging a large number of players, especially young ones, to become more addicted to this pastime and solely glue their eyes into the computer screens in lieu of real social interactions.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that the internet plays a crucial role in keeping people in touch with others. In the past when there was no internet connection, people had to use mails via the post office, which took them days or even months to transfer the messages. However, the introduction of the internet and social networking sites, such as Facebook, Twitter or Whats app, has benefited individuals enormously in maintaining contact with each other. Within a click of the mouse, everyone is able to send and receive various messages and emails from almost every corner of the world simultaneously. Clearly, without this technology, international connections between humans would have remained a radical challenge which may adversely affect various aspects of life.

In conclusion, although the use of the internet has both upsides and downsides as being considered above, I would opine that this system has significantly contributed to mankind’s association.