Some people choose to have their first child at an older age.

What are the reasons?

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, having babies later has become a phenomenon which stems from a confluence of economic, educational factors. Although this appears to ensure a more stable economic life for families and better upbringing for the children, I suppose the drawbacks regarding population issues are more significant.

Some of the primary reasons for delaying parenthood are closely linked to urbanisation and education. First, when people move to cities, life becomes more expensive and faster. Therefore, they want to further their careers to achieve financial security before they can afford to have a child, allowing them to provide their kids with more resources and more stable upbringing. Second, one of the most direct correlations to fertility is education of girls and women. Undoubtedly, the longer they stay in education, the later they leave it to have a child. Besides, the perspective of would-be parents nowadays is that they should be well-educated and well-informed about parenting knowledge and skills before giving birth. All of these elements combine, making the trend more popular.

Having children at an older age allows parents more time to prepare for finance and essential parenting knowledge and skills as ignorance in taking care of pregnancy and babies can result in health risk for both mothers and her babies. Besides, raising and educating a human is significantly complicated and requires a stable income. Therefore, emotional maturity and life experience are important to ensure better child-rearing. However, this could bring more challenges to both individuals and society. As the older women get, the more difficult it becomes to be pregnant. Due to their age, many women nowadays need some medical interventions such as In vitro fertilization (IVF) treatment - which can be significantly costly. Besides, this trend contributes to an aging population where there would be fewer working people to support young and elderly individuals in need. Also, the older population would affect innovation and society as they may not want to invest in novel ideas for the future.

In conclusion, the increasing popularity of giving birth later in life typically stems from financial and education elements. In my view, this trend brings more concerns for both parents and society as a whole.