Many people believe that motorbikes should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

There is has been a dramatic increase in private transportation around the globe over the last few years. Therefore, it is argued that motorcycles should be disallowed. From my perspective, this idea is reasonable due to its positive impacts on easing the traffic situation.

To begin with, some disadvantages of banning motorbikes can be anticipated. Firstly, it seems that there are no other convenient vehicles whose prices are more affordable than motorbikes. Take Vietnam, a developing nation as an example; there are many products, including cars are yet to be manufactured domestically and car prices are now extortionate for most of the residents. According to statistics, Vietnam’s GDP Per Capita reaches 2,300 USD per year. Meanwhile, a motorcycle’s price is about 1000 USD, meaning that in several months, people can afford one. By contrast, the cheapest model of cars such as Kia Morning is about 1,300 USD, in other words, people have to save their earnings in several years for one.

On the other hand, I positively believe that this approach brings significant benefits to the nation’s transport system. Firstly, the prohibition of this kind of vehicle can lessen chronic traffic congestion in various places, especially, in metropolitan cities. The rate of motorbikes ownership is growing swiftly. Undoubtedly, when the number of cars travelling exceeds the road capacity, traffic jams would happen. Therefore, restricting motorcycles would decrease the traffic volume in crowded areas, reducing traffic chaos. Secondly, it is likely to be full of risk when travelling by motorbikes compared to other vehicles such as cars, or buses. Motorcyclists only have helmets to protect their heads while other body parts are entirely unguarded. If people have an accident, there can be a high possibility of experiencing heavy injuries or even deaths. However, if people sit in their cars which are often made of durable materials providing the necessary safety features, such as steel or fiberglass, it is much safer when accidents occur.

Personally, I strongly believe that using motorcycles in big cities will bring out some problems both for the traffic and the owners’ safety. Therefore, a forbidding on these vehicles are necessary.