In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

It is widely believed that the massive stream of traffic in many urban areas worldwide is now considered an acute problem. In my opinion, there are many remarkable reasons and significant solutions for this phenomenon.

To start with, the increase in private vehicles probably has an enormous effect on this phenomenon. Specifically, it comes from a core recognition that personal vehicles are much more convenient than other means of transport. Take the bus as an example, this kind of public transport may be more time-consuming or complicated than other private transport such as motorbikes, bikes, cars, and so on. This would lead to the fact that people are likely to prefer using personal models of transport instead. What is more, overpopulation in urban areas is possibly also one of the major reasons for this issue. In other words, the more increase in citizens, the higher number of traffic participants would be. Especially in rush hour, when the demand for moving is essential, the volume of traffic is extremely high.

A number of definite actions could be taken to mitigate the problem above, especially the responsibility of the government. For one thing, authorities may have to encourage the use of public transport widely. Specifically, they could subsidize sharply in this field by developing the quality and quantity of each vehicle. By doing this, more and more people might tend to use these means of transport because of their convenience instead of choosing the private ones. For other things, politics should enact some laws in terms of encouraging people to settle down in suburban areas. In detail, nations might have to boost the life quality in these regions by creating more jobs or developing the infrastructures, road conditions, environment, and so on. Consequently, the traffic burden in cities could be cut down.

In conclusion, the high traffic congestion generally comes from the increase in population and private vehicles. However, applying the proper political strategies would be the key method to manage this issue.