In some cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Currently, traffic has enormously increased in urban areas of many countries across the globe. The prime reason is the rising demand for transportation and jobs in the suburbs. However, I believe this problem/issue can be solved by some actions from the authorities.

To begin with, the two main/primary/root causes of this issue are due to the higher/increasing usage of private vehicles and the migration of job-seekers from the countryside. Firstly, most road users prefer using their own vehicles to using public transit. For one thing, since public transport is not well inadequate, it makes passengers feel uncomfortable and unsafe when travelling. For another thing, using private vehicles is a more time-saving choice because people/commuters do not have to waste their time for buying tickets and waiting for the buses or trains. Secondly, the lack of jobs in the suburbs is encouraging job-seekers to migrate to towns or cities to find work, leading to a much higher number of traffic participants.

Several effective measures can be implemented/adopted/imposed to solve the issues. The system of public transportation should be upgraded and improved to attract more passengers and dissuade them from using their personal vehicles too often. In addition, more jobs for residents in the suburban and rural areas should be created to prevent the movement of people to metropolises where heavy traffic is a serious problem.

In conclusion, the rising number of private vehicles and the shortage of jobs are the two culprits of traffic problems. To eliminate this situation, appropriate actions on public transportation and job shortage in the countryside should have to be considered.