In some cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Many urban areas across the globe have been experiencing increasingly thick traffic. This problem, in my opinion, is attributed to population explosion and the rise of private transport, which I believe could be solved by introducing suitable counter-urbanization policies and laws.

To begin with, the common causes of high traffic volumes are often related to the boom in population and private vehices as more people tend to settle in urban areas for better employment opportunities. The more city dwellers there are, the higher the number of traffic participants, causing considerable rush-hour traffic. What is more, the number of private cars and motorbikes are increasing dramatically as most other means of transport in significant cities are unreliable and inconvenient. As a result, passengers would tend to use private transport to ensure their benefits.

Several appropriate/necessary measures can be taken to address/eliminate this problem. First and foremost, the authorities should encourage their citizens to reside in suburban areas by introducing counter-urbanization policies. One of the most feasible ways would be to create more jobs with good compensation policies in rural areas. Another possible solution would be to increase the usage of public transportation by subsidizing some target groups like students, the elderly or war pensioners, invalids, and survivors. Besides, they should also upgrade the quality of the public transportation system.

In conclusion, the prime reasons for the high volume of traffic in urban areas all around the world are the population boom and the dramatic increase in private vehicles, which could be improved by encouraging people to settle in rural areas and to use public transport.