In cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem.

What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

In sprawling cities and other urban areas on the globe, the heavy flows of traffic are a common challenge. This essay will discuss the main reason and offer some possible solutions to this problem.

The prime reason for the increasing traffic is the use of private vehicles. As metropolitan areas develop, there is a wide range of newcomers flocking to large towns and cities in search of job opportunities and stable settlements. As a result, a huge quantity of individual modes of transportation is brought to urban regions, exacerbating road congestion during rush hours. A typical instance is the city of New York where numerous personal cars often create traffic gridlocks on every route before and after office hours.

There are multiple solutions to this threatening issue. The first measure is that there should be road expansions to accommodate heavy vehicle flows. To be more specific, the roads need widening with various designated lanes for particular types of vehicles. By doing so, small motorcycles and big automobiles can travel on their own paths, reducing the traffic jams in peak times. Secondly, a law which charges more fees for entrance into central locations should be enacted. No rules being imposed on cars into city centers, drivers keep on going without any fear of restrictions. If there is such a rule, the drivers would re-consider prior to steering vehicles into the central spots. Finally, public awareness should be raised. Most traffic problems escalate mostly due to drivers not giving precedence to one another. Road users in society can learn how to drive in a harmonious way with other people on the same road by seeing educational contents distributed on social media or newspapers.

In conclusion, the rise in individual vehicles is the prime cause of the huge volume of traffic, and the 3 proposed measures could be adopted to handle this issue.