Many people believe that every individual is responsible for his/her own healthy lifestyle. Others believe that governments should take care of it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinions differ as to whether establishing one’s healthy lifestyle is the government’s role or the responsibility rests with each individual. While I believe there are some approaches requiring governmental support to be adopted, only people can decide for their own well-being.

Advocates of governmental intervention would point out certain essential actions which cannot be taken without the government. Firstly, it is unquestionable that many of today’s people, especially children, are rather ignorant of the detriment of an unhealthy lifestyle, which is why more people are leading to it. Therefore, the health authorities and educators need to integrate health lessons into the school curricular so as to make the children, and even their parents, more health-conscious and know how to make healthier lifestyle choices. What is more, in this day and age, our sedentary lifestyle is likely to stem from/result from sedentary jobs which seem to be immensely ubiquitous. In order to ease this situation, policies and regulations to encourage employees to do more physical activities during working hours should be imposed by the business owners at the behest of the authorities.

While governmental actions actually provide significant benefits, only individuals can design their own lives. Nowadays, there is a plethora of physical activities and nutritious food options for people to add to their daily life. However, without listening thoroughly to the bodies, people are unlikely to identify which is best suited for them, let alone someone else such as the authorities. In other words, only when people become more self-aware of their own current health status do they take proper actions to consistently combat poor health and live more healthily. Otherwise, no matter what steps governments take, they will always retain their unhealthy habits such as craving for unsafe fast foods high of salt, saturated fat and sugar, or being physically passive.

In conclusion, governments certainly have a role to play in improving the public health, but I believe that only individuals can regulate themselves and find out what is the most beneficial for their future life.