Many people think that It is a good idea for teenagers to have jobs while they are still students while others believe that they had better focus on their study. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Nowadays, with the economic and social development, the number of students who take a part-time job while pursuing a degree is increasing steeply. While it is argued that this trend brings various benefits, others completely oppose this view. In this essay, I will deliberate both views before reaching a concrete decision.

On the one hand, students should take/do part-time jobs because they will give them more chances for their future careers. When students work part-time, they have to schedule their daily routine carefully to balance working and learning. As a result, their time management skills will be practiced and improved gradually. This becomes their advantage in the future when they are looking for a job because nowadays most companies prefer to employ those who have many practical skills.

On the other hand, students should focus on learning if they want to graduate on schedule or sooner. It can be seen that most students have to spend from six to eight hours per day in classes, which is just as tiring as a working adult’s full-time job. Therefore, if they spend at least four more hours working, they will feel seriously exhausted and find it difficult to complete their homework or learning effectively. Consequently, they may fail several subjects or even cannot graduate on time, which is likely to negatively affect their career path.

In conclusion, despite the advantage of taking part-time jobs, I believe that it brings more harm than good to the young generation. Therefore, students should only go to work on summer vacation if they want to gain more experience and should spend a larger part of the time on their academic careers.