Some people choose to have their first child at an older age.

What are the reasons?

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the trend of having babies later has increasingly become common, driven primarily by economic, and educational factors. While this shift may contribute to a more stable economic life for families and better upbringing for the children, I believe the drawbacks regarding health and population issues are more significant.

The primary reasons for delaying parenthood are closely linked to urbanisation and education. First, when people relocate to cities, the cost of living increases and life accelerates. Consequently, many individuals prioritise career advancement to achieve financial security before having children. This approach allows them to provide their kids with more resources and a more stable upbringing. Second, there is a direct correlation between education and women's fertility. The longer they stay in education, the later they typically become parents. Besides, it is a perspective of parents nowadays that they should be well-educated and experienced in parenting knowledge and skills before giving birth. Together, these factors contribute to the rising popularity of delayed parenthood.

Having children later can provide several benefits. Parents often have more time to prepare financially and acquire essential parenting skills, which reduces health risk associated with pregnancy. Besides, raising and educating a child is complex and requires not only emotional maturity but also a stable income. However, this also presents challenges to both individuals and society. As women age, the difficulties associated with pregnancy increase. Many require some medical interventions such as In vitro fertilization (IVF) treatment to lead to pregnancy - which can be prohibitively expensive. Besides, this trend contributes to an aging population which fosters potential impacts on workforce demographics; there would be fewer working people to support both the elderly and younger generations. An older demographic may stifle innovation, as they may be less inclined to invest in new ideas for the future.

In conclusion, the increasing popularity of giving birth later in life is largely influenced by financial and educational considerations. In my view, this trend brings more concerns for both parents and society as a whole, particularly regarding population sustainability and societal innovation.