Many feel that going to the gym is the best way to stay fit. Others think there are more effective methods.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, health-related issues have become a popular concern amongst people across the globe. Therefore, it is believed by many that gym workouts are the optimal solution to a healthy and strong body. Although I would admit that the positive effects of gym exercises are self-evident/undeniable/indisputable, joining a sport or similar activity brings a more long-term impact on people’s fitness.

There are several benefits that gym-goers could reap from regular workouts at the gym centres. Firstly, these activities improve mental health, which also plays a significant role in keeping the body in shape. Aerobics, for instance, help increase brain sensitivity for the hormones serotonin and endorphins, which relieve feelings of depression and pain and produce positive feelings. What is more, working out can combat health conditions and diseases. Cardio workouts have been proven in various studies to increase circulation and strengthen the heart muscles, which therefore eliminates risks of heart disease and blood pressure. Weight-lifting is also a scientifically supported method of combating bone density deterioration, especially important for women.

Despite the aforementioned advantages, it is more motivating to take part in an organised activity. To maintain visiting a gym for a long time is relatively hard if people lack motivation and encouragement. Most people often give up after a few months, and never return again. Other sports and activities are likely to be more ideal in the long run. People tend to play sports, i.e football or swimming, more regularly for a large portion of their life since these are considered their pastimes, which are more enjoyable. Besides, while most gym workouts have to be practised at the gym, activities like Yoga and Tai Chi can be done in various places, meaning that they would be easier to become lifelong habits, and thus have a greater overall impact on fitness levels.

In conclusion, the benefits of going to the gym are undeniable but it is not motivating enough to become habitual for everyone. Therefore, I would suggest people experiment with a wide range of activities in the hopes that they can develop a lifelong passion for one of them.