The past 30 years have seen a significant transformation in peole's daily life since the internet was first introduced into the world. Although it is undeniable that the internet is inherently dual use in the same way as any other powerful technology, I believe its benifits certainly outweigh the drawbacks for two following reasons.

The first innovation brought by the internet is in the way we communicate. No longer does people travel over a long distance to have a face-to-face conversation, we nowaday can easily set a global meeting through the computer's screen. There are also hundreds of incredibly useful tools, namely email, internet messenger program, which make the contact with loved ones happened in a blink of an eye. Some people would argue that detrimental effects of internet like encouraging excessive virtual connection in young generation have been becoming more and more prevalent. In spite of this, most of us still have benifited greatly from this time effective way of communication.

Second, with widespeard connection to the internet, information has almost turned into common property of mankind. In earlier times, people spent many hours on reading, researching reams of books in order to refine the needed material. Now, thanks to the internet, information is widely shared, and then can be accessed with just a few clicks and keystrokes.

To sum up, despite of negative by-product, the internet has an irreplaceable position in modern life because of its influence on communication and information flows.