The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what solutions can you suggest?

Although the internet has revolutionized how information is exchanged and consumed, it has also brought issues that did not previously exist. In this essay, the author will indicate the potential problems and provide possible solutions to tackle the phenomenon.

The first and the most obvious problem should be mentioned is the fact the internet is a toxic place where children could access potentially dangerous websites. It is not denied that there are a multiple number of inappropriate content on the internet that is not made for children, namely pornography sites or violence pictures. Reports on “How shocking content affects adolescents?" from The New York Times clearly pointed out that accidentally accessing pornography children performed 75% more poorly than those who did not. Another factor worth pointing out is the growth of online fraud as well as hacking. Many individuals believe that they are well-protected on social media but in fact, their personal and sensitive information appears to be easily taken away from criminals due to the poor policies of these platforms. Once the criminals are able to get access to this information, it is the matter of time for them to blackmail users. According to a recent research conducted by Reading University on privacy on the internet, 47% of the surveyed said that they are not aware that their information is being public on many platforms.

In order to tackle this problem, the author will hereby dispense possible solutions in various aspects. Parental control and online time limitation would be effective in the battle against inappropriate content on the internet since by doing this, children will be put under their parents supervision and following that, the possibilities for them to access shocking content will significantly decrease. As a result, these contents will gradually vanish from children’s search history. Moreover, in order to overcome the growth of online fraud and hacking, learning about online privacy is a must to users. This is also a responsibility of online service providers to inform users about their privacy status, thereby supplying suitable solutions to the issue to immediately prevent their users. The author believes that once the personal and sensitive information is well-protected, the internet will be clean as before.

In conclusion, the essay has clearly shown the possible dangers of the internet, which are the access of children to inappropriate sites and the scam on the internet. Moreover, the author also suggests ways to tackle the challenges, including parental control and online time limitation along with an upgrade in privacy knowledge