The internet means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that the development of technology and the Internet has helped people gain access to an enormous source of information about the life of civils in other countries. However, I oppose that travelling is no longer necessary to acquire a complete insight of lives from different parts of the world.

Firstly, the information on the Internet can be misleading or cannot be conveyed fully to audience. Words can be affected by the subjective thoughts of writers, while pictures cannot catch all angles and videos can only record for a limited period. A typical example is that a majority of American people still think Vietnam is still at war, though Vietnam has been completely independent for over 40 years. Besides, there are features that only real experiences can interpret. No pen can describe the smell and taste of a local cuisine regardless of how skillful and aesthetic the writer is, and opinion about food varies significantly among different people.

Secondly, travel broadens the mind, and travelers gain more skills than just the knowledge of how others live. Travelling alone abroad helps people develop multiple skills, from speaking foreign languages, cooking, self-financial managing to dealing with difficult situations. Gordon Ramsay, one of the most successful and famous English chef, known for his immense knowledge of a great variety of cuisines from numerous regions in the world, experienced trickiness when he tried to make Banh cuon, a delicacy of Vietnam during his visit to this place. He even said that "Luckily I was not born in Vietnam, or I would never have been a master chef".

To conclude, the content available online is not a true reflection of the actual way of living in other nations, and in addition, one cannot comprehend it fully just by scrolling down websites. Visiting foreign countries is important to understand cultures as well as gaining one's own experiences and skills.