In many counties, more and more women have full-time jobs as men. There is a logic that they should share the housework equally with men. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that nowadays both men and women can be the breadwinner of the family. As both genders contribute to the family financially, I strongly adhere to the notion that they should also devote their effort equally into doing home chores.

Firstly, sharing household chores equally between male and female helps build a happy family. According to the traditional way of thinking, women are supposed to do all the housework. However, unlike housewives, working mothers cannot be expected to do all the jobs around the house when, along with men, they also have to spend 10 hours at workplace and earn money. Visualizing a woman arriving home from work after an exhausted day, she will easily be frustrated and fuming towards her husband and children if she has to clean up the mess they left, not because she is tired, but because the other members do not sympathize and help her in their house. This will result in an upset family. By assigning clearly tasks for each family member, people can foster a healthy home as women will have less burden, men will understand the struggle of house chores, which they often take for granted as well as pay more respect towards his spouse, and children will learn to be responsible for their future family.

Secondly, sharing chores is taking the first steps to achieve gender equality. Women are under countless underground judgement and standard set by the society. For example, in countries with severe gender prejudice or under serious affect of Confucianism, women are required to keep their virginity until they get married, or to be in charge of all housework as well as upbringing off-springs. In addition, females often considered to be inferior to males at workplace. Based on median earning data from the Census Current Population Survey, women are paid about 17% less than men. However, when men offer great assistance with taking care of the family, people will no longer assume "Chores are women thing". As a result, women will have less concern and be able to dedicate to her occupation and social status.

In conclusion, I completely agree that men and women should share effort in caring for their home as it helps build a decent family as well as approaching the goal of gender equality.