Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

Education methods varies across the world, while several education systems force students to study a broad range of subjects until they finish high school, some others allow students to concentrate on particular subjects from the age of 15. Although both forms of education bring definite advantages to students, I believe that focusing on several specific subjects is more beneficial.

On the one hand, it is true that a wide range of compulsory subjects is a superior preparation for later life. Off-springs generally are not into studying at young age; therefore, forcedly exposing them to multiple subjects probably will help them discover passion and innate talent in certain fields and nurture those when growing up. As a matter of fact, every subject is taught in curriculum for solid reasons. For example, Math means to develop children's logical thinking skills, while Literature teach sympathy and the beauty of life. Science explains astonishing phenomenon whereas Art may discover another Picasso for mankind.

On the other hand, I favour a system in which students start focusing on specific subjects when they enter high school for two important reasons. Firstly, it is unnecessary to make students all subjects once they advance to high school. At the age of 15, adolescents will already be able to aware of their own talents, hence, there is no need to continue learning all subjects mandatorily. Secondly, it trains more specialists for the society compared to the other type of education. Learning all subjects will definitely be more time-consuming and therefore accounting more concentration and effort than picking several of them. As a consequence, comprehensive courses takers have less time left to practice their favourable aspects compared to those who focus on several topics. Besides, teenagers should spend time to develop other soft and social skills by participating in extracurricular activities or seeking part-time jobs to prepare for adulthood; their life should not revolve only around studying.

In brief, although studying a wide range of subjects can help children identify their gifts, paying attention to certain area grants students time to dig deeper to their fields and thus creates more professors for the community.