: Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on whether it is more beneficial for students to concentrate on certain subjects at school or to learn various subjects. While each education system has its own benefits, I still believe that these systems should force students to study a variety of subjects.

On the one hand, there are some advantages for students to focus on a limited number of subjects. Firstly, students can be less likely to suffer from stress as a lot of homework and assignments are reduced, so they will have more free time to relax and entertain. It is not to mention the fact that students can focus intensively on every subject, which would assist them to get deeper insight into the lessons taught at school. As a result, their academic performances will improve significantly.

On the other hand, I am of the education systems that require students to learn a wide range of subjects. To be more specific, students can obtain more knowledge and experience in different aspects of life; thus, they will easily adapt to various environments in the future. In addition, if students study a variety of subjects, they can help them to know which one would be the most suitable for their further study. Take myself as an example, thanks to learning 13 subjects at school, I could find out my passions and strength in chemistry, which allowed me to follow this subject and chose it as my major in the university.

In conclusion, while every education system has its own upsides, I still hold the belief that the systems that force students to study a variety of subjects is better.