The manufacturing and use of cars damages the environment but their popularity is increasing. Why is this? How could this be controlled?

It is true that cars are one of the greatest causes of environmental degradation, yet the demand for car use is ascending. Several reasons can be attributed to this trend, and there are solutions that the government can adopt to tackle this issue.

Financial statements and the change in demand of people nowadays greatly contribute to the rise in car use. In terms of economic situation, cars have become more affordable that almost every household could own one. Take the USA into consideration, the average salary of American people is around $95000 per year, while car prices are generally do not exceed $35000. That means they need only 5 to 6 months of working to purchase a car. Regarding the change in demand, under the migration waves, the number or employees choosing a workplace in another city has been growing, resulting in dependence on cars to commute. Travelling by cars is by far convenient, especially when there are bulky luggage or fresh food to deliver when visiting their hometown.

However, measures can be taken to mitigate the use of car as well as their negative impact on the environment by the government. Firstly, tariffs on fuel and cars should be raised. Charging cars upon entering city centres, like the congestion charge in London or even imposing an official ban on cars entering the city on specified days of the week as Athens does is also a potential consideration. Secondly, resources should be allocated to upgrade and expand public transport provision. In order to encourage the use of public transports, they must be made comfortable and accessible for residents. Finally, in order to cut down on emissions and to reduce our carbon footprint, the production of electric cars must be encouraged, and corporations like Volkswagen, Tesla are already leading the way in this field.

In conclusion, reasons for an increase in car use is obvious to identify, however, several steps can be taken by the government to alleviate this problem and protect the Earth.