The manufacturing and use of cars damages the environment but their popularity is increasing? Why is this? How could this be controlled?

Cars have become one of the most prevalent vehicles in many parts of the world, although the automobile industry can be detrimental to the environment. This trend happens for some reasons, and there are several measures that can be implemented to tackle it.

The proportion of car use has increased due to some causes. Firstly, cars seem more affordable in some markets. In fact, automobiles are marketed at lower prices in countries where cars are manufactured, and there are no import duties levied on them. Thus, more and more people choose such an engined vehicle for their travel. Secondly, city-dwellers tend to prioritize private cars over public transport. As an example, Vietnamese people living in metropolises seem to drive their cars to work rather than take a bus or train since the country's public transportation is poor-quality. Finally, residents seem not to be aware of the adverse effects of cars on the environment. The car industry is so profitable that advertisements about them are rampant on virtually all media of information, such as on television, the Internet; thus, those advertising activities are likely to take the spotlight over environmental protection campaigns. Therefore, cars have gained more popularity due to their affordability, unsatisfying public transport, and ineffective ecological programs.

However, governments can take some steps to tackle the problem. Firstly, national authorities ought to impose heavier ecotaxes on manufacturing and using cars. As a result, cars priced higher can deter people from buying them. Secondly, public transportation may need upgrades and improvements to encourage inhabitants to travel by bus and train systems. Another solution is that state agencies of communications should place restrictions on car advertising at certain periods throughout the day. In addition, governments can raise public awareness by involving residents in more ecological protection programs. By implementing these measures, the popularity of cars can be reduced.

In conclusion, cars are widely used regardless of their negative repercussions on the environment. To curb their increasing widespreadness, governments need to take several prompt actions.