When cars and cyclists use the same roads, there are often problems.

Why is this the case?

What are the solutions?

In many parts of the world, cyclists and motorists use the same roads. While this trend can lead to several problems, some measures can be taken to tackle these issues.

One of the major problems that can be caused by cyclists and car drivers sharing a road is traffic congestion. In fact, these two means of transportation tend to move at different speeds, which can be much slower for bicycles than automobiles. Consequently, the two types of vehicles traveling on the same road can result in traffic jams. Another issue is traffic collision. In my country, cyclists hardly wear protectives, which will make them vulnerable to injuries caused by collision with cars. Moreover, people cycling seem to account for the relatively large proportion of accidents when they risk themselves to overtake automobiles even in the absence of space, or motorists may fail to be aware of other road users due to their blind spots. Therefore, sharing the same roads can give rise to traffic jams and accidents.

Some measures can be implemented to address the issues. Firstly, national authorities can adopt several policies to reduce the number of private vehicles. According to that, residents should be encouraged to use public transportation while a bike-sharing scheme can be put into place to create a cyclist-friendly city where people can alternate bike use. In addition, there should be restrictions on cars in the center during peak hours, for example, introducing higher tolls or congestion charges to discourage drivers from entering the densely populated residential areas. Secondly, road safety for cyclists should be improved by state funding. Specifically, governments can invest more in road expansion or separate cycle lane construction. By doing so, potential dangers for road-users can be reduced.

In conclusion, cyclists and car drivers using the same roads can cause some severe issues. Nonetheless, governments can tackle these problems by limiting private transportation means and making roads safer for cyclists.