Nations should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, education plays a crucial role in working life. While many people argue that countries should prioritize expenditure on skills and vocational training, I believe that higher education should also be focused on.

On the one hand, it can be argued that people should be equipped with skills and vocational training for actual work. Indeed, those who are provided with skills training can feel more confident in a real working environment. During their training, they seem exposed to simulation scenarios, in which they would have to deal with commonly occurred matters, such as how to talk to a client or collaborate with a colleague. Under guidance, people can know how to effectively solve those situations and apply such techniques later at work. With regard to vocational training, it can facilitate people to adapt quickly to practical work. In fact, vocational trainees tend to be intensively trained in a specific profession area, such as technology, mechanical engineering, which will make them more pragmatic about actual operation. Therefore, skills and vocational training can help increase fresh workers' confidence and adaptability at work.

On the other hand, tertiary education can lead to a competent workforce. Firstly, schooling at a university can furnish students with fundamentals, which will allow them to approach job tasks systematically. Furthermore, in my country, several universities have incorporated skills training into students' curriculum to help them develop into well-rounded employees. Secondly, if people only focus on practical training, they will be insufficient in the essence of knowledge provided by higher education. Thus, those people may have fewer opportunities to climb higher on their corporate ladder, particularly in economic and medicine fields. For that reason, higher schooling can provide people with not only essential knowledge and but skills that can go a long way towards work.

In conclusion, vocational and skills training can be helpful for new employees. However, I believe that tertiary education should receive equal investments due to its long-term benefits.