Many women are choosing to have children later in life. Why is this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some women are opting to give birth at a later age for some reason. While this trend can lead to some drawbacks, I believe that it can bring about more benefits.

Women incline to have children when they are older for several reasons. Firstly, they seem to devote more time to pursuing a career or higher education. In fact, women's stereotypical gender role as homemakers, who are conditioned to do most childcare and daily chores, does not seem to be accepted by young generations. At the same time, educational and employment opportunities are now equally accessible to both genders. Thus, women tend to climb higher in their corporate ladder. Secondly, the high costs of living and raising children may deter women from giving birth early. They seem to delay having babies until they can become financially stable, which can guarantee their children a life of comfort. Therefore, more and more women opt for the delay in giving birth.

This tendency can cause both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, children born by older women are more prone to mental illnesses, for instance, autism, which can be challenging for mothers to raise them. On the other hand, women with economic stability giving birth later can provide their children with the best conditions, such as education, nutrition, and entertainment. Furthermore, older women tend to have fewer children. Thus, their children can receive more parental upbringing to grow into well-rounded adults. More importantly, the low female fertility rate can reduce social burdens, such as healthcare, universal education for children.

In conclusion, choosing to be mothers at a later age may derive from changes in women's role and high child-rearing costs. While giving birth later can be risky for children's health, I believe this trend can benefit both families and society.