The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the đisavantages?

In the hyper-connected world, social networking sites are marginalizing in-person conversations. While this trend can have some benefits, I believe that it can trigger several drawbacks.

On the one hand, the explosion of social media can benefit both individuals and businesses. Firstly, the use of social network platforms can allow people to maintain and develop their relationships regardless of geographic barriers. In fact, by being active on sites, such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, an individual working in an Asian country can stay in contact with his family member inhabiting another nation within a mouse click. In addition, the advent of these platforms has helped people widen their circle of acquaintances who can share news and knowledge with one another. Secondly, social media can promote work-related convenience and business expansion. In particular, employers can not only carry out assignment delivery and keep track of each employee's task status through a conversation group created on Facebook, but they can also host call conferences facilitated by the technologies embedded in most platforms. Furthermore, a number of companies seem to have got off the ground, thanks to the burgeoning e-commerce market.

On the other hand, the consumption of social media may lead to some drawbacks. First, the use of social networking sites can separate people in the long run. Due to these sites' programmed additive mechanisms, netizens tend to overdose on screen, which may leave them little time to directly interact with others. On the contrary, face-to-face interactions can help create the intimacy that can act as a catalyst to deepen a bond. Secondly, in spite of work done remotely and businesses becoming expansive, the overdose of social media can cause the degradation of the organizational productivity. In fact, employees may easily get distracted by a wide variety of distraction sources, which are also available online, such as computer-based games, viral videos. More importantly, digital advertising may fail to win clients from some specific industries, for instance, real-estate, technology fields, in which in-person promoting conversations are equivalent to a company's professionalism.

In conclusion, social media can make some positive changes in how people network and run businesses. However, I believe that these social networking sites can give rise to several disadvantages that the traditional avenue of communication is able to solve.