People are living longer after they retire. What are the problems? What can be done to solve the problems?

It is believe that life expectancy is improved among retirees. While this tendency can give rise to some issues, governments can implement several measures to tackle them.

The enhancement of longevity after people retire can cause both society as a whole and pensioners themselves to face several problems. On a societal level, increased life spans may burden a country’s healthcare systems. In fact, the elders are likely to experience many existing conditions or be predisposed to a number of diseases, such as diabetes, stroke, cardiovascular disease, all of which require a great volume of medical resources, including pharmaceuticals, equipment, and human forces for treatment. Thus, if the number of retirees keep growing, the country’s medication systems would fail to provide them with adequate health services. Furthermore, residents living longer after retiring may pressure their nation’s pension fund. Particularly, the proportion of the elders eligible for pensions may outnumber the percentage of contributors, which would disrupt or even make the fund collapse in the long run. On an individual front, most retirees tend to suffer from financial insecurity, which may be attributed to higher living costs resulted from inflation and low pensions that make these people struggle to sustain their retiring life. Therefore, improvements in life span can subject a nation to burdens on its healthcare and pension systems as well as the elders to economically unstable life.

Given these problems, national authorities can adopt several policies to address them. Firstly, governments can re-allocate their budget to spend a larger share on strengthening their medication systems, such as equipping with more facilities, competent human resources, by which they will become more well-prepared for the rising number of patients retiring. Another solution is that authorities should legislate for changes in the pension schemes, requiring working people to contribute a bigger block of their salaries to the national pension fund in their working years, which will guarantee pensioners a more secure financial support. Finally, regional governments should encourage local households and businesses to create more employment prospects for the retirees, such as gardening, babysitting, home catering, which can allow them to monetize and have less reliance on the pension fund.

In conclusion, pensioners with improved life expectancies may result in some issues for themselves and society as a whole. Fortunately, national authorities can deal with the problems by upgrading their healthcare systems, adjusting pension schemes, and provide retirees with proper job opportunities.