Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes again when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problems

In this day and age, it is found that having been released from prisons, most of the wrongdoers tends to commit crimes again. There is proposed to be a variety of factors contributing to repetition of crimes by criminals, namely job application and chance of rehabilitation. This essay will discuss in details about two principal reasons as well as some solutions to address the issue.

To begin with, difficulties in finding employment are thought to be inducements attribute the ex-offenders to infringe the law again . To be specific, having seen a person’s track records, employers have a propensity to reject his occupation petition due to their perception that an ex-criminal is uncooperative. As a consequent, the insufficiency of money to survive undoubtedly leaves ex-convicts no alternative but to commit crimes. Besides, the social acceptance of released prisoners is also to blame for this phenomenon. In fact, it is undeniable that in various cultural settings, being reintegrated back into a community after the jail term seems to be a remote possibility. It is of no doubt that under heavily discriminations from the neighbors, the formers inmates might have mental problems letting them to reiterate a felony.

However, there are some measures could be taken by governments to mitigate this problem. Firstly, during the detention period, it is advisable that convicts should be equipped with some useful skill with the intention that after being released, they would keep abreast with the rapid social development. Moreover, the authorities should subsidize those criminals financially until they find a new career, which will support their family and allow those people to concentrate on seeking for their job. Secondly, it is essential that the former detainees be provided with scientific counseling and proper medical care which might ameliorate their psychic conditions and improve their social interaction with others.

In conclusion, taking the aforementioned opinions into consideration, the governments play a pivotal role in alleviating the rate of re-offending in the society. Therefore, they should the utmost to develop the harmonious society with those previous offenders.