Many people think that regional bonus points in Vietnamese national high school examination

increase the required admission points of many universities and deprive students from large cities of

entering top universities because of not having this priviledge.

Discuss this opinion. What do you think Vietnamese educational authorities should do to achieve the

equality in education between rural students and metropolitan students? Give reasons and specific

examples to support your opinion(s).

In national high school exam in Vietnam, territorial additional points are widely thought to be the reason by which universities’ admission point is proliferated; therefore, it is thought that this inequality would take urban students’ chance of attending highest ranked colleges. From my perspective, this privilege of rural area students is commonsensical and that Vietnamese government change the calculation of the priority score to create fairness for the contestants is of sagaciousness.

On the one hand, the rationality of the above-mentioned policy derives from the difference in the learning facilities and financial status between metropolitan students and rural ones. To begin with, academic learners from less developed countryside suffer from various incommodities that are uncustomary to children in urban area ranging from insufficient studying amenities to substandard educators. For instance, while studying in a fully-furnished classroom consisting air conditionals and projectors is casual to downtown students, their peers in mountainous areas find having adequate food is luxurious, let alone a modernized place of study. Secondly, distinctiveness in socio-economic conditions between citizens and ethnic minorities also acts as a hindrance to the studying career of the latter. Explicitly, shortage of money to pay for extended classes would undoubtedly results in inadequacy of necessary knowledge to gain high scores in examinations. Thus, the priority policy is decent.

On the other hand, educational priorities in Vietnam should alter the plus score in national high school examination. In this day and age, it is evident that the socio-economic status of the countryside in Vietnam has rapidly ameliorated which by all means narrows the difference in the living standards between children from here and ones in metropolis. Therefore, adding overabundant bonus points to the answer sheet of rural students might create such an inequality in the enrollment to the top-ranked colleges. Besides, the regional bonus point is widely believed to be to blame for the escalation of admission points of a variety of universities, which deprive pupils not having the privilege from entering their aspiring fields. To give in detail, the benchmark for enrolling in faculty of IT in Hanoi University of Science and Technology has risen up to 28,05 points, in other words, each of the subjects should be at least 9.25 points, an arduous goal to achieve.

To sum up, although the priority policy is humane, these bonus scores is no longer appropriate with respect to the current situation in countryside. Therefore, it is highly recommended that Vietnamese government make some alterations in the calculation of these plus points.