Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary world, it is obvious that buyers are being surrounded by a variety of advertisements posed by companies which make selecting favorable goods seems problematic. Subsequently, it is believed that modern commercials not only has great impact on customers but also develops artificial needs. I totally agree with this statement.

Firstly, advertisements are able to create positive impression about a brand in the minds of the consumers. Indeed, that more frequent is the commercials more money is thought to have been spent on them by producers has lead customers to the illusion that these companies’ goods are of good quality in a sense that cash has a link to the standard of products. Therefore, it is of no doubt that advertising is an important extrinsic cue signaling product quality to purchasers.

Secondly, nowadays, plentiful of firms has utilized commercials to exaggerate the features of their products. On the ground that there is no limit on the imagination applied in the advertisements on modern media such as television and internet , people are tend to be deceived into purchasing goods with counterfeit appetizing characteristic posed by producers without any thorough considerations.

Some might claim that intensive growth of sales of people’s main consumer products is due to their needs; however, ever since the advent of modern social gizmos, producers has taken various measures to market their commodities to customers, namely tempting advertising slogan on a billboard or different types of media which perhaps induce people to choose unneeded goods. A typical example might be the mobile phone. To exemplify, recently, Apple corporation has spent a great deal of cash hiring celebrities after whom people usually model themselves to advertise their products, which made purchasers desire to stay up with latest trend of their idols, especially youth.

In a nutshell, commercials act as a good approach for companies to promote marketing figures by influencing customer’s purchasing decision.