Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the hustle and bustle of life nowadays, commercials are appearing all around the world which might help various brands increase the number of goods that they have sold out. While I admit that the power of advertising strongly affects the decision to buy commodities of the customers, I also want to argue that the demand of consumers for that furnishings also contribute to making them give the final choice. I firmly believe large sales of famous consumer equipment rely on both things because of the following reasons.

On the one hand, advertising might influence individuals’ purchasing decisions in various ways. Initially, one of the common ways to promote the products from a brand is to hire the influencers who can experience those merchandises, and then give the positive review and approval for the items. Therefore, most of the fans will be able to pay for those things as a way to imitate the same with their idols, which is called “cheap moment”, without taking their necessity into consideration. For instance, Hoshi from SEVENTEEN, a Korean boy band, is the plenipotentiary of d’Alba which is one of the most popular skincare and make-up brands in the world. He helped to grow the sales of goods of that brand, especially the sunscreen and the facial mist because of his soft and smooth skin after using those furnishings. Moreover, in modern life, online shopping is one of the most convenient ways for humans to get something that they want without going to numerous stores to find out about those things. People just need a cellphone which is connected with the Internet to identify the items on various e-commerce platforms. The ease and convenience of online shopping nowadays enable chances for businesses to bombard their customers with countless promotions such as discounts, extra products or give away events which might manipulate the buyers that they are offered cheap prices and favorable deals while instilling fear of not getting these products at that price again. That contributes to pushing the number of products which are sold to become higher.

On the other hand, although advertising significantly affects the buyers' choices, their demands also play an important role in purchasing. First and foremost, the sustenance and subsistence which humans need to purchase on a daily basis without watching announcements. The reason is that those products which are essential for their daily activities can be purchased from familiar shops and spots. Therefore, the decisions to buy goods of individuals might not be affected by advertisements. Furthermore, medicine is one of the commodities that people cannot rely on the advertising to purchase. Because each disease requires its own medicine, the customers are only able to purchase the drugs according to doctors' prescription.

To sum up, I personally believe that while advertising undoubtedly influences the customers' decisions, the real needs of society also play a significant role in increasing the sales of popular consumer goods. Therefore, if the brands know how to control the combination of those ways, the sales of the products will grow higher and higher.