People are living longer after they retire. What are the problems? What can be done to solve the problems?

People's life expectancy is increasing after their retirement. Although this tendency may result in some issues, several solutions can be applied to tackle the problems.

Extended life span may cause some problems to individuals and society as a whole. On a societal level, retirees living longer may overwhelm state healthcare systems. In fact, the elderly who seem to have vulnerable immune systems or diagnosed conditions, such as cardiovascular disease, type-2 diabetes tend to demand significant amounts of medical service and treatment. In addition, aged people are likely to experience losses of mobility, which will require a number of nursing staff to take care of them. Furthermore, such people seem to lose their working ability, which may leave the weight of tax payment to the young. On an individual front, the elderly are likely to receive low pension rates, which will not be able to guarantee them good life's conditions in the long run. In my country, people after retiring are only eligible for 70% of their basic salary that will leave them little affordability to cover their lives. Therefore, the extended life span can burden state medical systems, young taxpayers and pensioners themselves.

However, governments can adopt some policies to address the issues. Firstly, national and regional authorities can re-allocate their budget and raise funding to strengthen the capacity of the health service systems. At the time, more nurses should be incentivized or encouraged voluntarily to take care of the elderly. Secondly, governments can improve pension schemes, which can furnish pensioners with more money to cover their needs. Furthermore, more employment opportunities suited for retirees should be created to help increase their earnings, such as gardening, babysitting, and other lightwork. Thus, some measures can be implemented to reduce burdens on healthcare schemes and improve the elderly's lives.

In conclusion, retirees live longer may give rise to some social problems and pressure themselves. However, governmental programs can play a crucial role in tackling the issues.