The world's natural resources such as oil, forests and fresh water are being consumed at an ever-increasing rate. What are the dangers of the situation? What can be done to solve the problems?

The rational use of natural resources is the basic factor that can drive us toward sustainable development. Nowadays, the unprecedented exploitation of natural resources such as oil, forests, and clean water has caused many serious consequences for the environment.

First, the overexploitation and overuse of oil have caused oil reserves to become increasingly depleted. Petroleum is used mainly as fuel, which also causes a sharp increase in greenhouse gas emissions such as CO2, CH4, etc., which leads to global warming and heavy air pollution in some big cities. Deforestation is also one of the heated problems. Lossing of habitat, imbalanced ecosystem, and the loss of the shield that protects people from natural disasters such as floods, hurricanes, etc ... are visible consequences of this. The irrational use of clean water resources has also caused many parts of the world to fall into serious water shortages. Human health declines and waterborne diseases increase in these regions.

Countries around the world have been working out solutions to reduce the harmful effects of this resource overuse. For the oil problem, finding and developing clean energy so that vehicles are less reliant on this kind of fuel is the best way. Electric and solar vehicles have been developed but still have some disadvantages compared to fossil fuel vehicles. It is necessary to expand these applications to limit the amount of CO2 released into the environment. For the issue of deforestation, planting more trees for forest rehabilitation combined with some forest protection measures are effective ways to address this problem. The exploitation of water resources also requires more relevant and innovative policies such as government instead of charging for the amount of water used by the people, which can be converted to charging for the amount of wastewater that they discharged into the environment. Besides, companies whose activities pollute water sources also need to be dealt with severely.

In conclusion, oil, forests, and clean water are extremely important resources and their proper use is the key to the sustainable development of our society.