Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on the sport. Why is it? Is it positive or negative development?

In today’s world of science and technology, the ways our children entertaining themselves have been changing significantly. Many children, nowadays, are spending more time on video games than taking part in sports activities. From my point of view, there are some reasons behind this trend and I truly believe that in long term, it can bring negative impacts on our kids.

On the one hand, I concur that there are some main reasons that can explain this development. Firstly, children, nowadays, are raised by digital native parents who are familiar with computers and smartphones so that they may usually make the most use of this advanced technology to buy time from their kids. For example, a mother can let her boy play computer games for a few hours after finishing his homework or buy a game whenever he behaves well. Secondly, some parents are so overprotective that they will not allow their children to join in sports activities indoor or outdoor since they are afraid that their kid can be injured or hurt. They may protect their kids by letting them busy with smart devices and then they can do their own job without being disturbed.

On the other hand, I am more convinced that without sufficient guidance, education, and supervision from parents, this development can provide their kids with tremendous negative effects. Firstly, it is scientifically proved that spending more time playing video games can harm children in many ways. For example, the lack of physical activities can certainly cause slow reflex and overweight. Besides, the children will not possess enough interpersonal skills and thus, be isolated from society. Secondly, video games are generally addictive and may be good for the study of children. For example, when my younger brother at home studies, he usually ends up by getting distracted by his smartphone and computers, thus I have to turn off all the digital devices to avoid wasting time.

In conclusion, with the development of technology, it has never been easier for children to access computer games, and thus, they rarely play outside. This certainly a negative trend since playing video games can cause many bad effects.