Some cities create housing for their growing population by providing taller buildings. Other cities create housing by building on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

In many cities, constructing buildings in response to population growth has become a significant concern. While some metropolises build tower blocks, others opt to use more land for housing. This essay will discuss both solutions.

On the one hand, vertically house building seems suitable for urban areas with limited land. In fact, modern construction techniques can allow humans to create even hundred-story apartment buildings, which can accommodate a number of households. In addition, several flats built on a single floor can be affordable for residents to buy or rent. Simultaneously, by living high from the ground, can citizens be less subjected to noise pollution caused by traffic. However, although almost all high-rise buildings are well-furnished with comfort, residents may have less privacy and access to green space and other communal areas. Indeed, due to the population boom and land scarcity, cities may have to implement further vertical building schemes.

On the other hand, some metropolises create housing on more expansive land areas since much land is available. The reason for this trend can be that authorities may plan to make use of the land and facilitate city-dwellers' access to open space. Moreover, citizens seem to demand spacious houses with more privacy. However, as the population explodes at break-neck speed, available land will be used up. Consequently, the increasing demand for land will pose a threat to natural habitats. In the long run, the exploitation of such habitats will exacerbate environmental issues, such as increased global warming caused by deforestation. Therefore, even though widening houses horizontally can respond to the booming population, this should not be a long-term option.

In conclusion, both architectural solutions can have advantages and disadvantages. Nonetheless, I believe that it is better to inhabit high-rise apartment buildings since this building style can not only house multitudes of people but also reserve lands for further use.