Some cities create housing for their growing population by providing taller buildings. Other cities create housing by building on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

Cities have different views with regard to solutions to tackle their growing population. While some construct high-rise apartments to improve housing capability, others would like to expand thier cities. Both of these solutions have its own beneficial impacts; however, I align with the latter opinion.

On the one hand, there are several merits of building multi-storey apartments to provide houses in cities. To commence with, one of the major benefits is the increasing in housing capacity. Taller residental building with multiple floors and units, can acommodate a larger number of residents within a smaller footprin land. Another advantage of multi-storey building is that it can maximize the efficient use of limited urban land. For instance, while population density is increasing with the scarce of available land, high-rise apartments can provide the necessary housing capacity without sprawling into green spaces or encroaching on natural landscapes.

On the other hand, building on wider areas of land can also bring numerous advantagous effects on either cities or individuals. First of all, with the expanse of land, the noise level and traffic congestion of cities can be minimized. In fact, many research studies have shown that, due to the huge influx of people moving to the cities every years, cities witness traffic jams almost every days. So expanding land can expand more roads that can reduce traffic congestion effectively, especially in rushing hours. Furthermore, wider land areas can offer people more spacious living environments. Residents can enjoy larger home, ample green spaces and closer connection to nature. This contributes to higher quality of life and improved well-being.

In conclusion, to solve the population explosion in cities, both of the solutions that contructing multi-storey apartments or building on wider areas bring several benefits. However, I believe that expanding cities’ land is a better one as it offers a better living space for people and also reduce the traffic problems.