Major cities have become large and overcrowded. Why is it happening? What measures could be taken to prevent it?

Some metropolises have become sizable and packed with more people. This tendency may result from some reasons, and several measures can be taken to tackle it.

Big cities are often central to the national economy, which can thrive on fully-developed infrastructure. In other words, a number of facilities, such as industrial factories, shopping malls, skyscrapers, and transport systems linking all infrastructure together, are likely to be constructed in a major city to boost its economic development, which will increase the demand for urban expansion. Furthermore, metropolitan regions seem to be considered a dreamland of job prospects, which can attract people from different places. In my country, seasonal jobs in agriculture account for the greatest proportion of suburban workforces. In order to search for more stable employment, people tend to migrate to cities. Therefore, economic growth and residential migration can contribute to more overcrowded and expansive urban areas.

Governments can implement several policies to address this issue. Firstly, municipal authorities should improve their urban planning schemes. In particular, a facility's expansion or construction should be appropriately controlled and licensed to avoid land misuse. In addition, manufacturing companies should be relocated to the suburbs to make room for commercial properties, which require less land but yield the same profits. Secondly, governments should redistribute resources needed for economic development in suburban areas. In fact, regional authorities can facilitate businesses in the countryside with tax exemption, financial packages, which can create more employment opportunities for suburban dwellers. Therefore, better urban construction and regional business encouraging policies can be adopted to control urbanization.

In conclusion, urbanization has become popular in many parts of the world due to economic growth and migration. However, governments' policies can play a vital role in managing this trend.