Many countries import large amounts of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

As transportation is becoming more advanced and convenient, it is true that numerous nations are relying on a huge amount of foodstuff imported from other regions in the world. While the trend is getting more common these days, I doubt that it may do more harm than good.

On the one hand, thanks to importing, people can enjoy a broader variety of nutrition. There are certain kinds of crops can only be cultivated in tropical regions or under cold weather; those living in temperate zone can only experience tropical fruits through imported products and vice versa. For example, Japan has imported Vietnamese lychees at exorbitant costs: 650.000 Vietnam dong for just 12 lychees, while the Vietnamese easily purchase a 1-kilogram bunch at just 30.000 Vietnam dong.

On the other hand, trading in great amount of food can cause the country to be dependent on the supplier. A typical example is that several restaurants in Singapore now have ceased selling their famous chicken rice due to chicken shortage, of which resource mainly comes from China. Besides, transporting food along such far distance requires tremendous preserving effort, resulting in the products themselves will be frozen or infected with a significant amount of preservatives. At the end of the trip, the foods may not be fresh or as nutritious as they used to be, leading to food waste, food poisoning or even other ailments that can be attributed to chemicals.

In conclusion, although food imported from other nations in the world can bring beneficial experiences for people from other areas, I opine that this generates more drawbacks than advantages.