Many countries import large amounts of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Living in the urbanization and modernization era, a variety of nations have a tendency to emphasize industrial professions and downplay the essence of the agricultural field which leads to the import of a tremendous of food around the world. It is debatable that this action has an adverse bearing on both the government and its inhabitants. To a certain extent, this issue would do beneficiaries and disservice simultaneously to the importers.

On one hand, it is undeniable that there are vigorous reasons for nations to establish the food import trade. First and foremost, those countries whose natural resources are depleted, inadequate, or merely inappropriate for food production, can take advantage of buying in food to diminish the depletion. As a consequence of the trade process, the number of expenditure and time is saved for allocation to industrialization and modernization. Japan, for example, is renowned for being a prosperous nation and a thriving economy that its land is unsuitable for cultivation. To confront the difficulty, it prefers to import rice instead so that it can focus on more pivotal fields such as technology.

On the other hand, reclamation is in utter need that it is better for some nations to invest in food provision. It is advisable for them to be self-sufficient, especially, when it comes to crises or recession. Moreover, as the export countries adjust the policies about a tax hike, both the importers' government and its dwellers are put a strain to deal with the increase in food price that residents may work harder to meet the consumption demand.

In conclusion, besides the aforementioned benefits, the drawbacks pertain to tax and its policies need to be taken into account when nations import a significant number of food commodities.